Aug. 14, 2017
August 2017
Aug. 14, 2017
August 2018

Championships Awarded on Final Two Days of 2017 USTA Boys’ 18 & 16 National Championships

KALAMAZOO, Michigan – The USTA handed out four national championships on the final two days of the 2017 USTA Boys’ 18 & 16 National Championships held at Kalamazoo College and Western Michigan University.

In 18 singles, No. 2 Patrick Kypson (Greenville, N.C.) edged No. 5 JJ Wolf 6-7(1), 6-4, 1-6, 6-3, 6-2 to claim to 18 singles championship and a berth in the main draw of the U.S. Open. Kypson becomes the first player since Alex Bogomolov to win both the 18 and 16 singles titles. Coincidentally, both Kypson and Bogomolov also finished runner-up in 18 doubles.

In 18 doubles, No. 1 Vasil Kirkov (Tampa, Fla.) and Danny Thomas (Reynoldsburg, Ohio) defeated No. 2 Oliver Crawford (Spartanburg, S.C.) and Patrick Kypson 7-6(1), 6-2 in the 18 doubles championship to claim the wildcard berth in the U.S. Open later this month. No. 3 John McNally (Cincinnati, Ohio) and JJ Wolf won the 18 doubles third place match.

In 18 feed ins, No. 1 Sam Riffice (Orlando, Fla.) claimed his second consecutive title with a 6-2, 6-0 victory over No. 32 Britton Johnston (Snellville, Ga.). Riffice, who concluded his career in Kalamazoo, also made the finals of the 18 feed ins in 2015.

In 16 singles, No. 1 Brandon Nakashima (San Diego, Calif.) needed just 55 minutes to defeat his doubles partner, No. 8 (Stefan Dostanic (Irvine, Calif.) 6-0, 6-1 to win the 16 singles championship. Nakashima, who did not lose a set in the entire tournament, lost just 24 games en route to the title. No. 3 Siem Woldeab (La Mesa, Calif.) won the third place match 7-6(6), 7-6(4).

In 16 doubles, No. 3 Will Grant (Boca Raton, Fla.) and Tyler Zink (Bradenton, Fla.) won the championship match 6-2, 6-3 over No. 24 Eshan Talluri (San Diego, Calif.) and Siem Woldeab. Top seeds Robert Cash (New Albany, Ohio) and Ryder Jackson (Nicasio, Calif.) won the third place match 6-4, 6-2.

In 16 feed ins, No. 20 Cannon Kingsley (Northport, N.Y.) edged No. 2 Andrew Dale (Leesburg, Va.) 4-6, 6-4, 1-0(5) in the championship.

The tournament also gave out its annual sportsmanship awards as well as the Ron & Kathy Creager Outstanding Umpire award. The winners are listed below.

2017 Wes Richards Sportsmanship Award for Feed Ins – Timothy Sah (San Diego, Calif.)

2017 Bobby Kaplan Sportsmanship Award for Boys’ 16 – Garrett Johns (Atlanta, Ga.)

2017 Dr. Allen B. Stowe Sportsmanship Award for Boys’ 18 – Danny Thomas (Reynoldsburg, Ohio)

2017 Ron & Creager Outstanding Upmire Award – Seane Pulley (Irving, Texas)

Source: Mitch Blankespoor